Six Chicks With Bare Bums

You think you’re doing the right thing, and then you find out that it was all a lie…. Then you try something else out, only to find out that that wasn’t what you thought it was either! It’s all marketing, and it’s a nightmare. I’m talking about food, products, anything that they use to pull the wool over our eyes, in the name of the economy. But food is a big one, and everyone has jumped on the Eco-Band-Wagon. How do you find the motivation to keep trying to buy the more ethical foods, when you keep finding out they’re not really that ethical afterall?

So many people are surprised when I tell them that “Free Range” isn’t all that it seems. It is in some cases, but in others, it’s just a big loop hole. There may be an outdoor area, but the chickens don’t necessarily get to go in it. And, “Barn hens” have no more space then battery hens, but they are drugged and have their beaks clipped, so they don’t peck each other. Yes, battery cages have recently been massively improved, but they are still creatures in cages. (A good book on the subject is “Eating Animals” by Jonathan, Safran Foer) My solution is to keep my own hens.

I picked up my 6 choocks from the British Hen Welfare Trust last week. The BHWT maintains relationships with large scale battery and barn farmers, and adopts the hens when they are past their prime, and the farms will otherwise send them off for slaughter. When they get a batch of hens in, they call everyone (like me) on their waiting list, and I ask a friend to help me pick them up in exchange for jam, chutney, and a future box of eggs.

So now I have 6 semi-bald, ex-barn chooks. I am in love with them, and i’m not at all embrassed to admit it! They have gone from being terrified and barely leaving their house, to running around after me, in just a few days. It is a beautiful thing to see these creatures, who have had such a horrific start to life, discovering grass and dandelions, and worms and bugs, and foraging around in the bushes and under the trees. I sit in the garden, singing John Denver songs and playing guitar, and they come over to see me and show me some appreciation. They are my biggest fans! One of my ladies, (Mary Poppins) is like a naughty little child. I put my daughter to bed at 7.30, and then I go to put the chooks to bed. They are all in their house like good little girls, except Mary Poppins. She doesn’t mind me picking her up, and I put her into a nesting box, and it’s as if she just wants to have one last cuddle before bed. Her behaviour is quite similar to my daughter actually…

I’m feeding the chooks Ex-Bat pellets, which I will ween them off gradually, and i’m making relationships with a number of shops in town, to adopt all of their out of date food. I also have a whole bunch of neighbours who know what kitchen scraps they should and shouldn’t chuck over the fence. I’m not worried about them being effected by the arsenic in my soil, because I will be feeding them so much from elsewhere, but that’s a whole other topic that I could rant about for too long. I’ll do an arsenic update another time!

Lesson for the week: Chicken poo is huge! It’s like a small dog poo. This is not something I had expected. It’s a good surprise though – I need as much new, uncontaminated soil as I can get, so I am collecting it to fertilize my plants, which I am now growing in pots, bags, and an old bath tub a neighbour gave me.

So my chooks are eating all of my neighbours and my kitchen waste, and producing really really happy eggs, and clean, uncontaminated compost for my garden. They give my daughter and I so much pleasure, and I hope we do the same for them. They deserve it. So maybe you can understand, why I truely love them so much. They are part of the ecosystem of my home.

About thehouseofjam

I am a Trustee/Director of the Permaculture Association of Britain, and I make jam with wild food. Lots of it!
This entry was posted in Bartering, chickens, Earth care, everything gardens, Food, Gardening, Low Impact living, Minimum Effort for Maximum Effect, Organic, Permaculture, philosophy, Produce no waste, Self Sufficiency, soil, Tavistock, The Problem is the solution and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Six Chicks With Bare Bums

  1. yellowlancer says:

    Have adopted many ex-battery hens here in Australia and love them, too 🙂 I also have bantams.
    I think the world would be a better place (environmentally, socially & economically) if the majority had a couple of ex-battery hens in their backyards!

  2. Awesome blog, Jam. I have just gone from city to farm chick & applying permaculture to our block. We’re currently zoning 5 acres, will be getting chicks soon. It pleases me to know there are similar minded people out there to connect with. Can’t wait to hear more adventures. 🙂

  3. stickyllama says:

    I have chookies too and absolutely adore my gals – you cannot help but adore a chook! I absolutely agree with the so-called free range. And pasture ranged hens lay better quality eggs by far – higher in vitamins and lower in saturated fats. Everyone should have chooks, they are the key to a wonderful back yard.

  4. whoah this weblog is great i like reading your posts.
    Stay up the great work! You understand, a lot of people are hunting round
    for this information, you could help them greatly.

  5. Christoper says:

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative
    and entertaining, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that
    I stumbled across this in my search for something
    regarding this. Christoper
    twitter followers at a discount as well as fast, Come on Supporters
    for your page.
    Do you have silently wondered the way to buy twitter followers with twitter?

Leave a Reply

