The Piggery of Jam and the Pee Pear Pie

So I’ve moved my daughter and myself across the country, to sunny Devon. This really does feel like the beginning of the rest of my life! Most of the boxes are open, and my copious amounts of jams, chutneys and pickles are in new cupboards and in my piggery. Yes, I have a piggery. Disappointingly though, I didn’t find any pigs.

Between putting up curtains and pinning blankets across draughty doors, I’ve been peering out at my garden. It’s beautiful. I have a green house, a shed, and hopefully 3 fruit trees that are more edible then ornamental. We shall have to wait and see. Or maybe my neighbours will know… One permaculture tool which I am using to design my garden, is OBREDIMET. This means I have to start by Observing my garden: Watching the sun, the shade, the frost pockets, learning what kind of soil I have, what is already growing. Observing is very hard when you’re impatient like me! But it is still very cold and I haven’t insulated my loft or installed a wood burning stove yet, so I can distract myself. I’ll then go on to learn my Boundaries and Resources, before Evaluating and Designing a fully integrated, efficient, edible and ecological garden. Then, and only then, I can Implement my design.

However, and it’s a big however, I have a pear tree which I moved here with me. It didn’t take in my old garden, so I decided to try and rescue it. I dug it up, and have kept it in a tub all winter, while I’ve been living with my dad. It’s best to plant a fruit tree in the Autumn, so that it can have a winter to settle in, before having a big growth spurt in the spring, but I don’t think I could keep this poor pear tree in a tub until next Autumn. It needs a lot of love and TLC. I decided to prioritise the pear tree, and choose a place to plant it, keeping in mind that I still want to have chickens and vegetable beds. A month or two before spring, is better then nothing, and the soil isn’t rock solid any more. So I chose the best spot I could, giving it space and light, while not blocking sunlight I will want to use in the future. I dug a hole (my soil is beautiful) and I chucked a tub of vegetable peelings in the bottom. Matilda and I planted the pear tree, and filled in the gaps. I then brought out my wonderful luggable loo, (you may want to read a previous post, “the problem is the solution”, if you don’t yet know what I’m talking about) and fertilised my tree with my nitrogen!

It was a proud moment. My sister told me that she has no intention of ever eating any of my Pee Pear Pie in the future. She’ll be missing out, of course.

20120208-215101.jpg

About thehouseofjam

I am a Trustee/Director of the Permaculture Association of Britain, and I make jam with wild food. Lots of it!
This entry was posted in Earth care, Gardening, Low Impact living, Organic, Permaculture, philosophy, Self Sufficiency, Tavistock, The Problem is the solution and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

