Easy Peasy Cupcake Squeezy

Hurrah! I found a recipe, substituted the majority of the ingredients for stuff I already had in the kitchen, and it was a triumphant success! This is my usual way of cooking, but most of the time, I need to ask my guests to have an open mind when they are presented with something I have concocted. Not today however. If I didn’t tell you they were vegan, or that I made them with wholemeal bread flour, you wouldn’t be any the wiser. Proof: My 3-year-old LOVES them!

It’s just as well too, because I made them as a gift for a couple of friends who are donating to me an old fridge freezer and a wardrobe for my new home (3 days to moving day!!) They are good friends, who have probably overdosed on my home-made jams and chutneys (my usual way of thanking people) by now, and I am glad that I’ve come up with a new type of gift.

Now I’m not vegan in the slightest, and I am sure that when I have my own happy chickens, I will be cooking with eggs all the time. However, while I am still living in an area where there is a severe lack of organic and free range eggs within cycling distance, I think this recipe is a little gem. I couldn’t help myself but want to share it! I think next summer I will be freezing 9oz portions of berries in preparation for these cupcakes!

VEGAN RASPBERRY CUPCAKES

Ingredients:

1 and 3/4 cups Wholemeal Bread Flour

3/4 cup Sugar

1 tsp Baking Soda

9oz Crushed Frozen Raspberries (I’m sure fresh would be fine, but it is January!)

1/2 cup Olive Oil

1 tbsp White Vinegar (This is the egg replacement!)

How To: Preheat Oven to 350F/180C. In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar and baking soda. In a small bowl, mix the oil, vinegar and crushed raspberries. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet. Stir, but don’t over stir. Spoon into muffin tins (I used cases). Bake for 20 minutes. Cool. Eat. Share!

Easy Peasy Cupcake Squeezy!

About thehouseofjam

I am a Trustee/Director of the Permaculture Association of Britain, and I make jam with wild food. Lots of it!
This entry was posted in Baking, Food, foraging, Low Impact living, Permaculture, Self Sufficiency, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

